Skip to content

I wanna be a Toys R Us Kid!

January 10, 2011

Saturday was kind of a low-key day for us.  I don’t know about you all, but our weekends seem to come in two varieties.  Either we have  a ton of events to attend or chores to complete or we have nothing at all.  This weekend was pretty much a nothing at all weekend.  We did have lunch planned at Uncle Kenneth’s with the Scruggs family, but that’s about it.

Anyways, back to our low-key Saturday.  We decided to go to Toys R Us for two reasons.  One, we had reward dollars that were going to expire soon and two, Ansley LOVES the place.  She is all smiles when we arrive and walk down the long hallway to the store.  People from Spartanburg will know what I’m talking about.  I remember going to the Spartanburg Toys R Us when I was a kid.  All  the anticipation on the ride there and then the long hallway at the store building up to the climactic wonderland of toys at the end of the hallway.  I hear we are getting a new Toys R Us / Babies R Us sometime in 2011…so no more hallway, I’m sure.  Ansley had 25 reward dollars to spend, so off we went through the store:

You can see why Ansley loves the place.  The worker in the pictures is actually her Grandma Linda.  She has worked at Toys R Us since the 1980’s.  She is our inside connection to all the latest toys, and helps us find whatever we need while we’re shopping.  She takes care of us for sure!

As for the purchase, Stephanie decided on a Cinderella baby doll.  She wanted to buy her something “Disney” for Ansley to take on our Disney cruise planned for this summer.  Also, Dr. John (Ansley’s pediatrician) wants Ansley to be taking care of her baby dolls before her next visit.  Specifically she should be able to brush their hair.  Ansley already has lots of dolls, but they all have plastic hair…which I guess isn’t conducive to brushing.

We’re happy to report that Ansley has combed the baby’s hair and fed her a bottle.  Although, Ansley tries to drink the baby’s bottle too!

Sunday was pretty much church, lunch at Kenneth’s and weather watching.  The pastor made me laugh today.  I’m paraphrasing here, but he said…if you want to hear a wonderful story, then go to Barnes & Noble, they’ve got plenty…I’m only preaching Jesus Christ out of this pulpit.  He said this with the most sincerity ever, but the B&N reference cracked me up.  Well I hope everyone’s got their bread and milk.  It looks like we’re getting some snow tomorrow.  The governor has already closed all state offices tomorrow.  Until next time…

No comments yet

Leave a comment