Skip to content

As if it couldn’t get worse!

January 8, 2011

Tonight was just bad for me (Steven) personally.  For starters, I’m trying to cut back on what I eat.  For lunch today I had one of those frozen dinners and a cup of applesauce.  As you might imagine, by 5:30 or 6:00 when I get home from work I am ready to eat our house brick by brick.  And unfortunately, the fullness of my belly and the shortness of my fuse are inversely related.  I was an irritable beast until we arrived at Panera.

Panera

The Logo

When we got there, Stephanie was taking care of Ansley and getting her settled into a high chair and I went to order.  I ordered the you pick two.  I told the man, “yes i’d like the you pick two with the turkey sandwich and chips.”  He replied, “What else?”  I was so confused.  The you pick two comes with half a sandwich, a side, AND your choice of a soup or salad.  Well, that fact totally eluded me until the man was like…sir, you ordered the you pick two and you only picked one.  HAHA!  I felt like a complete idiot.  I’m sure he thought I was clueless or left my brain at home.  I “picked” the chicken noodle soup and Steph had French onion soup and an apple.  I managed to get both our soups to the table without spilling.  Ansley was really lively at the table tonight. She talked and cooed and yelled the entire time. Eye ye Eye Ye MA MA MA WHHHHAAAAAAH!!!  She is so loud.  I would like to publicly apologize to the couple by the fireplace.  I think we ruined their date.  The food was delicious as always. 

Man, what is up with the people who dine at the Eastside Panera!  They act so snotty. “I don’t care if it’s not on the menu, this is a sandwich shop and I want a tuna on whole wheat”.  I mean why don’t they just stay home and have their butler whip them up a sandwich?

After dinner, we went to Publix to get our groceries.  They’re calling for snow this week, so we had to make sure we had all the ingredients for a milk sandwich!

Logo

On the way in, Stephanie grabs up one of those racecar shopping carts.  You know the ones that are twice as wide and two times as long as a regular one.  I asked her not to get one, but she insisted that Ansley would be happier if she was facing forward (which was allowed by these specialty buggies).  Gosh, the crowd was horrendous and there were two Mom’s co-shopping and letting their tween rule the store.  They took up the whole aisle and seemed to be everywhere we, and our 10 foot long racecar, needed to be.  I thought about running them into the wall or cutting them off…we did have the racecar shopping cart after all.

On the way home from Publix, I told Steph that the shopping made me edgy and cranky.  She told me take two deep breaths in and out and calm down.  I started to feel better and thought well, at least now we can go home, unload the groceries and everything will be smooth from here on out.  Then this happened:
Prego pasta sauce fell out of the back of our minivan when I opened the door.  Crash!!!  Ooey Gooey pasta sauce was all over our garage floor.  I’m not sure which caused it, my grocery packing abilities or Stephanie’s driving.  I’ll remind you that I worked at Bi-Lo for 5 years in high school and college, and you can form your own opinion. 🙂
Well, I’ve cleaned up the mess, and strangely, I’m in the mood for some Italian food.  I think I’ll call it a night, but I’ll probably trip and fall on the way to bed!
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

